Back to All Events

Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture Discussion

  • Humboldt Bay Aquatic Center Room 203 921 Waterfront Drive Eureka, CA, 95501 United States (map)

California’s Fisheries and Wildlife: Can they co-exist with Offshore Wind Energy Development?

Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture Chair: Senator Mike McGuire
Vice Chair: Assemblymember Mark Stone

May 3, 2019 – 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Humboldt Bay Aquatic Center, Room 203 921 Waterfront Drive
Eureka, California
Live stream:

1. Welcoming Remarks
Senator Mike McGuire
Committee Chairman and Members of the Joint Committee

2. The future of fisheries and offshore wind energy in the Golden State: Potential challenges, opportunities and perspectives from Policy Leaders

Necy Sumait – Chief, Renewable Energy, Pacific Region, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Le-Quyen Nguyen – Advisor, California Energy Commission
Chris Potter – Marine Renewable Energy Program Manager, California Natural Resources

Agency, Ocean Protection Council
Dr. Kate Huckelbridge – Senior Environmental Scientist, California Coastal Commission

3. How offshore wind projects can mitigate potential environmental impacts at sea: Remarks from the Industry

Kevin Banister – Vice-President of Development, Principle Power
Mark Severy – Senior Research Engineer, Schatz Energy Research CenterDanielle Mills – Director, American Wind Energy Association-California


4. Protecting our ocean environment and balancing the need for green energy: Perspectives from Environmental Leaders

Chet Ogan – Board Director, Redwood Region Audubon Society
Jennifer Savage – California Policy Manager, Surfrider Foundation
Sandy Aylesworth – Oceans Advocate, Natural Resources Defense Council

5. California's fisheries and offshore wind energy: Can wind and fish co-exist, or will the plan flounder?

Noah Oppenheim – Executive Director, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen’s AssociationsHarrison Ibach – President, Humboldt Fishermen’s Marketing Association
Annie Hawkins – Executive Director, Responsible Offshore Development Alliance

6. Public Comments – 2 minutes per speaker
7. Closing Comments: Committee Chairman and Members 8. Adjournment